So what’s up boys and girls… So I’m in the preaching class, and if you know me, I can pretty much think of nothing I would rather not do. For as long as I can remember I have avoided up on the stage in front of people situations… I even recently read a report card from my freshman year of high school (my mom gave me all the stuff she saved up over the years) and it said, “Steve much prefers the listener role than that of the speaker.” Now this was for a speech class, so it wasn’t necessarily a compliment, but it amazes me how long this has been a part of my life.

Anyway… I found out that our three sermon class has been reduced to a one sermon and one life story (which I already shared). So this is a pretty cool thing to me.

My sermon is going to be taken from the “Sermon On The Mount.” Matthew 5:38-42…

You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’But I tell you, Do not resist an evil person. If someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also. And if someone wants to sue you and take your tunic, let him have your cloak as well. If someone forces you to go one mile, go with him two miles. Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.”

So pray for me, hit me up with what you see in this passage, what sticks out to. Although I would like to prepare a sermon for the masses that I might be able to use on a Sunday morning, I also need to focus on the people in the class as well; future ministry leaders.

I’ve heard of larger churches that have a preaching team… where they work together to create a sermon. Let’s do it… eh? You all are much better teachers than I… help me brainstorm.

God bless you all, I feel pretty good about being in ministry right now… God has been working on me… man so much has been hitt’n my emotions… what a big baby. Later all.

Posted on March 9, 2005, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

