End Of The Spear


In June of 1989 my life changed forever. I went on my first mission trip with my church youth group. It was quite a trip… from then on I have loved mission work. I began spending every summer working in Mexico and eventually moved to the border and worked fulltime in Mexico. My fiance at the time gave me a journal written by a guy named Jim Elliot. I didn’t know who he was or his story, but quickly learned about his story.

I spent the next 8 years working along the border of Mexico. Missions still has a special place in my life. I try and share that with all the people I work with… (teenagers mostly). It is my hope that some of them will also fall in love with missions and sharing the Gospel with others.

Well today was another step in that direction. We took 23 people to see “End Of The Spear.” This is the story of Jim Elliot and the other 4 men who went to share the love of Christ with a dangerous people group in Ecuador.

I don’t want to share too much of the story. There is some pretty graphic violence, however it cuts away so not show actually death blows, yet you do see the people after they have been killed. This is an okay movie for middle school students, however I’m sure some parents would shy away from the violence, but it is necessary to show the gravity of life in the world and the situation the missionaries were heading into…

…giving up what they cannot keep to gain what they cannot lose. ~ Jim Elliot

Posted on January 19, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

