Tile and The Family

I’m so glad I’m a part of the family of God… This is the song that closed nearly every Sunday morning service growing up. I love it, I love thinking about those days. This past week, the song and it’s truth took on a new significance.

I volunteered to do some tile work for my lovely bride. Her pediatrics office is growing quite fast and they are building a bigger and better office. Well to help out, I thought well yeah, I can do that tile for you. My heart is bigger than my brain sometime and I quickly realized I was way in over my head. The job was just too big for me to handle. This realization hit home rather harshly one night and I wasn’t quite sure what to do.

So I made a list of the people that I knew I could count on and after doing that I found sleep much easier.

I started the next morning with a few phone calls and quickly had six people willing to help lay the tile, and a tile saw lent.

Saturday morning came and we layed about 1000 sq/ft of tile. Then two days later, we grouted that tile. Last night we layed another 400 or so sq/ft of tile and the job was done. All that is left is to grout and seal.

Why all this talk about tile… I came to realize what a family is about… not just a blood family, but a spiritual family. I was alone (i thought) to tackle this huge job by myself, and alone I was quite concerned. However, after I called on some of my brothers, the job still big, but not insurmountable.

The burden that I had foolishly agreed to take on, on my own, was now lightened by family. They didn’t beat me down and say, “what were you thinking?” But came alongside me in my foolishness and helped take on the beast.

Today I have felt more like a part of a family (while thousands of miles away from my family) than I have in a long time.

I saw a glimpse of God in these brothers of mine… I know I get myself into so many stupid situations (many more than I realize I’m sure) and God comes alongside and says hey I think you might need some help with that. He doesn’t rub my nose in it… nor smack me up side the head… He just leans over and says, “hey together we can do this a little easier.”

“I’m so glad I’m a part of the family of God. And I’m glad that… Chris, Jason, Randall, Alonso, Greg, Oscar, and Abram are too!”

Posted on January 23, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey dude, I’m glad that I could help out (even if I was an “unskilled laborer”)! Praise God for giving us a spiritual family we can count on. I’m thankful to be a part of yours bro.

    After all that mixing, I feel that I can now declare myself the mortar master. I almost have mortar-mixing withdrawl…almost.

Leave a Reply

