Thankful

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I hope you are able to spend time with your families and friends. This year our family will be spending time with some new friends and soon to be new friends that we haven’t met yet.

We usually do up the food right at our place and I can only imagine having three families come together will prove to be very nice when it comes to the quantity of food on the table!

This year I am going to cross the border and work on a house for a family over in Juarez. Back when I worked for Amor I always liked the idea of spending Thanksgiving and Christmas in Mexico. Kinda helps keep life in perspective, which is difficult in the USA. It was hard not being able to do the typical eat and hang out with family tradition… but this year I get to do both. Should be good.

Some things I’m thankful for…

My wife (hot), daughter (beautiful), son (crazy), mom (supportive), dad (a constant), brothers (cool), home (warm), church (family), friends (encouraging), God (awesome), life (all over the place), faith (adventure), future (bright), past (complete), mind (hanging on), body (ditto).

There are lots of parts of the Bible I like. Colossians happens to be one of those parts… and in particular this verse, since thankfulness has been on my mind.

Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.
~ Colossians 2.7
I want to overflow with thankfulness. Sometimes it’s easy to get down on our families, lives, work, country, world. But those things aren’t where true joy and happiness come from… there will be difficult times to face in each of those areas. Christ however wants our best for us. He has our best for us. If we stay connected to Him, if our roots, our down in him where we get the nutrients and water for a life filled with true peace, love and joy, then I will be able to have a life that overflows with happiness.
My prayer for everyone is that they will first get connected to Christ… then overflowing with thankfulness will be the norm, a constant. God bless you today and forever. I’m thankful for you today for sure, but really most everyday!
Posted on November 23, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

