Choosing

A couple years ago I was at a conference where I heard Erwin McManus speaking about the power of choice.

A couple of days ago I heard a message on the need for Chrisitians to go when God leads.

Today I read a quote from G.K. Chesterton… I don’t know who he is… maybe I’m revealing a lack of awareness on my part… or maybe you don’t know who he is either.

The quote was this…

“The Christian ideal has not been tried and found wanting, it is has been found difficult and left untried.”

Right now, I find that difficult part to be true… maybe I’m a wimp… I probably am.

We have made a choice “to follow the leader and he leads us to Paseo” is what I wrote in my announcement letter about our move from Westside to Paseo, at least something similar to that. I don’t doubt my decision, I’m just saying it is proving to be difficult right now.

And maybe this is the problem… it doesn’t seem difficult… just unknown. We are in a weird place right now… inbetween places I guess is what I mean. We have left the known, but not really moved. We have left the comfortable, and chosen to put ourselves in the uncomfortable… but we chose to go.

Doing so has already put me and Anne into situations that just a few weeks ago we could have avoided… has put stress on our lives that wasn’t there and has made us rely on God in ways that I didn’t have to just a few days ago.

Following Christ is an amazing ride, never boring, never. Doing so has sent us into an abundance of situations that we would have never experienced… some I’m still wondering why we are experiencing.

One things for sure… when God says “GO” he is there… he also goes a head and is already working where he sends you. He says, “I am with you.” We are experiencing that right now.

Maybe a bit more transparent than I have been in the past… another choice made.

Posted on January 29, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

