The Barbarian Way

I began reading Barbarian Way a few weeks back. It’s a pretty easy read… as far as reading goes. But it isn’t all too easy if you consider the implications of this “Barbarian Way” that Erwin McManus says we have been called into following if we have chosen Jesus as our leader.

Today I read the following…

” I wonder how many of us have actually had this conversation with God: “Abba, Father, Dad, would You purposefully put me in danger?” I think a lot of us haven’t asked God that question because we went ahead and answered it for Him. Of course He wouldn’t do that. We’re His children. We’re family. He wouldn’t purposely endanger us, not even to accomplish a higher or nobler purpose. Or would He? “

We paint a pretty different picture in the church don’t we! We sell a better life, a more peace-filled life. Answers come where there were questions. Roads are smoothed out… less valley’s more hilltops. I’m not sure, well I’m pretty sure we haven’t explained always the whole story.

What if we said, you know what God does love you, SO MUCH. And you can have salvation, eternity in Heaven… BUT that’s not the whole thing. Following Christ, committing to his way, to walk where he walks also involves risks, involves danger, struggle. Once you join Christ you join a fight. We’re at war.

McManus goes on to say that we are “Warriors of Light in dark places… Mystical warriors.”

How many people really accept that we are at war… we have a call to advance a kingdom, to take back lost ground.

I love this, I know that when I’m conciously involved in this fight is when I’m most alive, but I have to tell you it scares the crap out of me too. Today I remembered how much the enemy wants to destroy us… I felt it.

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. ~ Ephesians 6.12

I’m praying for you today… for me too… for my family and all of us.

Posted on February 23, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

