Starbucks Wisdom

These days I find myself in Starbucks a lot more than I thought I ever would. It’s actually a pretty nice place to be. For the most part the music is good, I can meet and observe all sorts of people, from wealthy (probably high in debt) business people driving too nice of cars to the homeless guy who pushes his cart up to the door with his old starbucks cup looking to get a cheap refill and then arguing loud enough for everyone to be uncomfortable in the place so the barista gives it to him free in the end anyway.

I find it somewhat appealing to know that I’m purchasing only a $2.00 cup of coffee and then getting a .54 cent refill which brings down the selling average while I hear the team leader telling her team they need to work on uping their per sale average.

Actually I just enjoy a comfortable place to sit, drink coffee and work… and I don’t have to clean up the room or the bathroom.

I also get to read little gems on my coffee cup like the following…

#230 ~

Heaven is totally overrated. It seems boring. Clouds, listening to people play the harp. It should be somewhere you can’t wait to go, like a a luxury hotel. Maybe blue skies and soft music were enough to keep people in line in the 17th century, but Heaven has to step it up a bit. They’re basically getting by because they only have to be better than Hell. ~ Joel Stein, Columnist, LA Times.

At first I’m like, “You’re an idiot.” After a bit of bouncing it around in my head, I’m thinking part of his response is our fault. OUR being the church. We think that selling heaven is the way we get to people to buy into what Jesus has come to offer. But sadly I don’t think heaven is much of a selling point when you’re trying to get away from your abusive spouse, put food on the table, or make rent… or just have a conversation with someone who would care to listen.

Yeah, if heaven is what were selling then we should probably dress it up a bit, but if what were selling is a relationship with a God who loves you now, I think the message is just fine.

Posted on April 11, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

