Mondays with…

crowd“The whole Judean countryside and all the people of Jerusalem went out to him.” ~ Mark 1.5

When I first read this I was thinking, “How amazing.” Whole and All. That blows me away. I get excited about this stuff… like in the book of Acts when thousands of people were being added to the church on a regular basis. I’ve never seen anything like this. I hope for it.

BUT… after being amazed and thinking on it for a few days I remember what I have read about this group of people. I remember how flip floppish they are. And when I think about that, I start to wonder if the “Whole” and the “All” is such a great thing to hope for?

Typically when I look at that type of group, the crowd, I think more like “Mob.” And I think it’s typically pretty easily swayed. It doesn’t have any drive in one direction, but goes from here to there serving itself. People get hurt, trampled, lost in the “Whole” and the “All.” 

If I’m really honest over the past say three years, I have come to appreciate the smaller more intimate group of people. Those that know who I am and I know them.

We recently started a church and we don’t have the whole desert or all of El Paso busting down our doors, but we have enough people, where if you want to hide you can. I don’t like that. I don’t like that people hide.

I don’t know who you are, you who read this thing (drop a note in the comment section… introduce yourself if I don’t know you), but I hope that you have found a smaller group of people who you can invest in and who can invest in you. Scripture talks about 2 or 3 on a few different occasions. Jesus hangs out with 12 guys. What about you? Do you enjoy the crowd? Does it feel safe to hide in there?

What do you think? Crowd or Small? Both? Doesn’t matter? Are we hiding Jesus and there’s little that would draw a whole community these days?

Posted on February 2, 2009, in Mondays with.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

