Mondays with Mark

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed. Simon and his companions went to look for him,  and when they found him, they exclaimed: “Everyone is looking for you!” Jesus replied, “Let us go somewhere else — to the nearby villages — so I can preach there also. That is why I have come.” ~ Mark 1.35-38

I’m not much of a morning person. What I mean is that I don’t like “getting up.” I do love the mornings and when I’m up in the morning I love it. It’s just the getting up part I don’t like. Now over the years I have heard been taught, prodded about the idea that a good Christian will get up early in the morning to pray. I appreciate the motivation from people pushing that, I think they miss the point. (I could be wrong… it’s been known to happen)

What I do think is important is that Jesus found time to get away to be alone to be with the Father. In our day I think we could all agree that this is as essential as ever. We tend to find ourselves running faster from thing to thing to thing. In an age of cell phone and cell phones that are capable of doing more and more… I can check email, change an appointment, add a contact, update my facebook, text msg my wife or friends, chat with people in other countries… all from my phone. You’d think finding time to be alone with the Father would be easier than ever… hmmm I wonder why it seems difficult.

Which brings me to the next part of this passage that I find attractive… Jesus has the ability to “hear everyone is looking for you” and in return say… um let’s go over there. He is not controlled by the pressing moment, pressing people, demands put on him, but is fully focused on doing what he is intended to do. This is hard for a people pleasing person to swallow. It sounds incredible… really it does, but it is also a bit nerve racking to think about putting into practice.

So I’ve got some work to do… if I’ve got the technology (which might actually be a hinderance) and I believe in the importance of getting away (and I do) and I know that saying no to the pressing whatever is important ( and I believe that) then yep I’ve got some work to do. It means I find my value from something other than what others think of me, the output/performance that I can squeeze out of my breaking down body… It means I look at Jesus as an example I take it to heart and I start living it out.

How about you? Are your actions dictated by the pressures from the outside? Are you taking some time out for just you and the Father, whether it’s the morning or night or midday? Is your techno gadget helping or hindering that?

I’ve got some thinking to do.

Posted on February 16, 2009, in Mondays with.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

