Mondays with Mark

A few days later, when Jesus again entered Capernaum, the people heard that he had come home. So many gathered that there was no room left, not even outside the door, and he preached the word to them. Some men came, bringing to him a paralytic, carried by four of them. Since they could not get him to Jesus because of the crowd, they made an opening in the roof above Jesus and, after digging through it, lowered the mat the paralyzed man was lying on. When Jesus saw their faith, he said to the paralytic, “Son, your sins are forgiven.”   ~ Mark 2.1-5

A bit late with the post today… I read this last night and have been thinking about it. I’m a bit amazed by it to be honest. Part of me thinks it’s hilarious. I mean what in the world were they thinking that they would dig through this guys roof.

I can imagine sitting in my house, Jesus sharing about you know Jesus and all of a sudden hear the noise that it would take to get through my roof. I think I’d be “what the hell is going on… oops, uh sorry Jesus, I mean what the heck.” (that was supposed to be funny) I mean if you keep reading… Jesus knows what they, the other guys, the teachers of the law are thinking, so He’d know what I’d be really saying anyway… right!?!

So that’s not what really had me thinking. But I’d be loving to tell that story over the years. “You remember when those guys busted through my roof!”

What really had me thinking is why Jesus forgave the paralytic guy. Because of his friends faith. They were so sure that Jesus could do something about their friend they dug through a roof… and Jesus said your, you guys, you all, your faith has healed him.

I’m blown away by this and I think we really need to rethink what we call or consider a relationship with Jesus looks like. Could our faith affect our friends sin condition? I think faith has been, at least for me, what I was taught saw, heard, experienced is that it is my business, between me and God… but here we see something different. Some buddies took their friend to Jesus… some guys faith determined a friends place before God. I think this is more than interesting. Our lives our relationship our understanding of who Jesus is and what he provides affects those around us. Our faith is a community deal… it affects others for good and probably could affect it for bad.

As we dive into the journal of Nehemiah at Paseo, I hope that we will see we have a role in the now faith and/or future faith of those that live around us.

Posted on February 23, 2009, in Mondays with.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

