Clean water in Juarez?

As far back as I can remember I’ve heard, “DON’T DRINK THE WATER!!!” when traveling to Mexico. I didn’t even live alone the border for the first 23 years of my life and I knew the phrase. Well after my experience in Fiji, I really began thinking about filters in Mexico… beyond Mexico too, but for now Mexico. I’ve been talking and thinking and talking and thinking a lot. But before I got too far ahead of myself, I decided to see if water was really an issue, in Mexico, at least in Juarez.

So on Monday, along with a couple buddies of mine, I headed across the border and we collected some samples. I want to know if it really is a need. Now, we only tested two locations. I’m sure that there are areas, where it is needed, and we’ll probably need to get some more samples, but I wanted to check these two areas first.

Here are some pictures of our time there. Oh and BTW we saw nothing or experienced nothing that I hadn’t experience during my entire 8 years working across the border with Amor Ministries. I felt as comfortable as I always had. Of course we didn’t do anything stupid… we kept to our business visited with families and enjoyed our time there.

I’m looking forward to the results from the water tests and excited about what we might be able to do to help.

raw sample in Anapra from the tap.

raw sample in Anapra from the tap.

filtered sample

filtered sample

quality control

quality control

taste test

taste test

Posted on August 25, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

