“That’s why I like Paseo”

The longer I’m in the church work gig, the more I realize it’s a work that largely involves the ability to listen and see. Why? Because it involves people and people want to be able to share what is going on in their lives and actually have people hear it. Maybe I’m a bit biased, because I like to listen, much more than I do to talk. But what I have observed over the years is that most people don’t have that place where they can reveal the truth of what’s going on in their lives and I have observed over the years that a lot of people, both inside and outside the church, that they don’t think they can openly, transparently share their struggles in church.

This saddens me.

I spend a lot of time listening and usually as my last post describes the listening usually involves eating too. People want to share and I truly believe that if they are honestly and empathetically listened to, then they are willing to listen themselves even if it is a difficult thing they must listen to.

This was the case with a friend of mine. As we met he was visibly uncomfortable, avoiding eye contact, pacing. Why? We were meeting to discuss some things in his life that were hard to discuss. So we grabbed some food, sat and I broached the subject to get things rolling, then I just ate and listened… and listened… and listened.

I already knew what we were going to discuss, so I knew that what I was going to share was going to require some changes. So I listened and then shared my view and my beliefs concerning the situation and how Biblically as I saw it, the situation needed to play out… which was going to require some conversations and changes that would be uncomfortable. As I finished up, I impressed on him that although this was going to be tough, that we would be walking with him, that he wouldn’t be alone in this and that he isn’t the only one that has ever had to deal with it and that we love you and you need to stop.

His response… “That’s why I love Paseo.”

— coming soon – It’s not how many burritos.

Posted on December 22, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

