Discipled Not Well

I’m not sure I was discipled well. I’m not sure I wasn’t. For the longest time I was debilitated by a “lack of knowledge.” I always and I mean always, even to this day have that nagging thought that I don’t know enough to be able to teach or lead. Insecurity sure, I know that plays a role in it. I have never and I mean never enjoyed being the center of attention and for the longest time I thought to be used of God, really used, I needed to know enough to be able to get in front of people to teach them. I like knowing stuff… I think it’s cool to know stuff…. but I never feel I know enough. So I went to Bible college and I still don’t feel I know enough. At this point I’m beginning to think I’ll never know enough to feel I know enough. At this point I’m also beginning to think that  I don’t care. Because at this point I’m beginning to think it’s not about knowing. Now that doesn’t mean I want to get up in front of people now, it just means that I’m beginning to think it’s not as big of a deal as I once thought it was.

And because I’m starting to think it’s not that big of deal I’m starting to think that maybe I was discipled well… not because I don’t know stuff, but because it’s not the amount of stuff I know, I think, but because another reason.

I’m working through some stuff right now in regards to the other reason. I don’t want to sound like I don’t know stuff when I write it, cause I went to Bible college and well I’m supposed to know stuff now, so I’m letting it sit and digest for now.

Posted on May 12, 2010, in My Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

