Family

“Then he looked at those seated in a circle around him and said, ‘Here are my mother and my brothers! Whoever does God’s will is my brother and sister and mother.’ ” ~ Mark 3.34-35

I am so used to just reading through the Bible and brushing right by things. I’ve heard or read things so many times that it’s easy to just breeze on by. I’ve been rereading a book, “Celebrating the Disciplines,” and in this book, Foster discusses meditation and that while we meditate on scripture that we should really let the ideas soak in, if it’s peace of Jesus. Sit and let the idea of his peace invade and encompass your thoughts. So when remember to do this and when I give myself some time, I try to fully embrace an idea… and so I did this morning… began to anyway to try and fully engage the passage above.

When I sit and think about the idea of family… I’m a bit saddened, because of the number of families that are not as they should be. One site, as reported in the census of 2009, listed single parents at 13+ million and that translated into 21+ million children living with only one of their parents. A high percentage of these over 80%+ are the result of divorce. I think about family and I think we have a lot of hurting families in our country.

Add to that the number of people who live alone or away from family and who are looking for a connection and this idea that Jesus looks around at people and says this is my family. These people belong, they are valued, they are family is amazing. Add to that who Jesus is and that he knows them intimately and still invites them to be family just adds to the message he is proclaiming.

There is no doubt that there are people in need of family, community, connection, love, attention, acceptance, affirmation and encouragement. People need the healthy touch that comes with a family… and God is saying, you’re in we’ve got another spot at the table, join us.

There are plenty of sites that discuss loneliness, depression, suicide, etc on the web.

I wonder how many of the people around us struggle with this and are looking for a place at the table.

I wonder if people just don’t know how to be a part of a community in realtime, face to face with other people.

I wonder what the world of Facebook and Twitter and whatever new virtual community has to do with the connection. I’m not convinced an online relationship fills the void of real face to face relationships… there’s no touch, no visual communication, not energy felt from computer screen like there is in the presence of another.

Posted on August 31, 2010, in My Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

