2011 Reads

Last year I committed to reading 12 books. One each month. I don’t gravitate towards reading, I’d rather be doing something, but I have to say I enjoyed almost everything I read. There’s only one book that I have struggled to get through… for … two… years. It sits here next to me as I type. It will be done by the end of the year.

It’s an important topic to me and that is the only reason I’ll get through it, but I don’t really enjoy the reading of it much.

Anyway. I’ve started down my 2011 reading list and it’s been good so far. I just finished Hood by Lawhead. It’s the first book in a trilogy on the Robin Hood story… but redone. I liked it and will probably get to the other two books this year. This came recommended by Rod Darey.

I also started a photography book, The Photographer’s Eye by Michael Freeman. At this point I haven’t much enjoyed this book or felt like I’ve learned much, but I’m trying to get what I can out of it.

Tonight I’ll start tackling, “In the Name of Jesus” by Henri Nouwen. Bari Henry recommended. It’s short and I’ll probably be done tomorrow. There are many more on the list…

Crazy Love by Francis Chan Recommended by many.
Down By The River by Charles Bowden Recommended by Greg Hunt.
Divine Conspiracy Dallas Willard. Don’t remember who recommended this.
A Selection of Poems by Robert Frost. One of my favorite Poets.
Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet. Recommended by Mike Kerner

This past Christmas I received a Kindle from my wife and I have to say that I actually like it. I wasn’t an avid reader before so I don’t really feel the need to have a book in my hands. I love that I can have 10, 15, 100 books all at once. I like the kindle over the iPad, for the purpose of reading. I don’t know that I’d get much reading done with all the distractions that I know I’d have on the iPad.

What are you reading? Do you use digital readers or are you a book person? Kindle or iPad or something else?

 

Posted on January 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

