Here? In this place?

‘This is what the LORD Almighty says: ‘In this place, desolate and without men or animals – in all its towns there will again be pastures for shepherds to rest their flocks.’ – Jeremiah 33:12

As in my previous post, my friend Jenni is sharing a week of second chances. You can find it here.

Of all the places to live while reading this passage, I find myself in El Paso. Here’s another like it… makes me laugh

‘He changes deserts into lakes and dry ground into springs. There he settles those who are hungry, and they build cities to live in. They plant in fields and vineyards that produce crops.’ – Psalm 107.34-37

I laugh, because I’ve been trying to get grass grow in my yard for a couple months now. Hopefully soon. But, I’m not sharing these verses, because I’m thinking about grass, but rather about those difficult times, those dry times, those times when it looks like there is no hope on the horizon.

Often times where we least expect to see growth, life, health or even trust, love, grace, there in the worst of places, the lifeless of places in our worlds and lives, God says… again there will be pastures… and in those pastures, rest. Take a deep breath and let that sink in. Rest. Right now where your chest is tight, your stomach tumbling, your thoughts turning… rest.

I don’t know where you find yourself. I don’t know what situation you find yourself in. Your family, your relationships, your own thoughts. God can take that place void of hope, that place where no life seems to be found and can again bring it back from the dead. Health, life, love, hope and grace can again flourish.

Posted on May 27, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

