Blogs Are Like…

Blogs are like opinions… everybody has one…. and you’ve heard about opinions.

Today one of the photographers I follow tweeted… “I don’t get when photographers write blogs for tips yet show other photographers’ work to illustrate the post. Don’t have it? Don’t post it.”

Although it appears they deleted their tweet (the reason I’m not mentioning their name) I believe this statement is true of every area of “expertise.”

Everyone has that friend that “knows” everything, but now with the explosion of blogs it appears to be getting worse.

So I think we should take the advice of my “friend” and post to what you know… and what you actually do. In my world… it’s church growth, community development, missional living. There are plenty of people out there posting and tweeting and authoring books about things that they aren’t actively involved in… or that maybe they were involved in in the 80’s and 90’s.

If that’s your case… talk about how it made you feel to fail. What did you do when you doubted your calling? How do you keep moving forward when it feels like you can’t go on?

I don’t know about you, but the people that live around me today look at the church and Jesus differently than my neighbors used to. How I engage my neighborhood is different because of that fact. I hope that 5, 10, 15 years from now I’m not talking about how I used to do it and instead am encouraging those around me who are struggling to share God’s love with their neighbors, because I’m still trying too… and being crushed when it doesn’t work out the way I’d like it to.

The past few weeks… I’ve been listening to and reading Psalm 139 over and over again… you can to by using the youversion app on your iphone. It’s pretty cool to have that audio option. And there’s a lot more to Psalm 139 than that “you are fearfully and wonderfully made.” It’s pretty jam packed with goodness.

Posted on August 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

