Assessments and Reflections II

( my previous post can be found here : Assessments and Reflections I )

Again as I move through the process of stepping out of my staff position at Paseo I am taking time to assess where I’ve been, where I am and what I’d like to do in the future. I am honestly amazed at how many people over the past month have told me what I need to do, what I should do and what I shouldn’t. I’m not sure how to take it all. Part of it is my fault, because I have been openly open about not having a set next step. I’m not sure, but I think in our lives, especially here in the US that is at the minimum a bit uncomfortable for people and at most out right wrong.

How in the world can you leave a known position, employment, ministry, paid position and just not have a next step, a plan and so my vacuum is something that people feel they need to fill with something… I think.

The other side of me is… do I look that helpless that I need so much input? And yet the other side is and how I try to take all of it is that people are at the root concerned and caring. For those of you reading this, I do appreciate your concern and desire to care. Thank you.

Earlier I told you that I took a relational assessment that revealed a few areas where I could invest some energy. I really like this goal:

   Capitalize on the external emotion of the environments you step into and practice changing

   those environments in a positive way. Don’t let significant moments pass you by, rather, seize

   those moments and make good deposits in other  people’s lives. This is an  art that must  be

   practiced, a quest to be  pursued.

I believe this to be one of the most exciting things I’ve thought about in a long while. In life, especially today, people are concerned about our country and where it’s going. But in a lot of the places where I’ve served the past few years, they are concerned about whether they are going to have food today, not the future. They wonder if their parents will be high when they get home, they wonder if the work they are investing into matters and whether anyone notices.

Reread that statement above. I love it… it’s an art to be practicedmake good deposits into other people’s lives.

This is an incredible pursuit for everyone who happens upon this post. I hope those you come into contact with today invest into your life and you into theirs.

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i hate that you’re leaving our staff.

    in other news… i think you should join the circus. my $.02.

    you’re welcome.

  2. Steve,

    Thanks for sharing your struggle and thoughts.

    Alon

Leave a Reply

