It Is Only A Symbol…

Over 18 years ago I gave that ring to my wife. I saved up for it and hid it away for the right time to ask her to marry me. I loved her and wanted to spend the rest of my life with her. Depending on how many weddings you’ve been to, you’ve heard a number of explanations of what the ring means, the purity of the gold, the circle that doesn’t end… etc, etc.

For us, our rings are symbols of our love for each other. They aren’t / weren’t what is /was important. The love that they represented was what matters. It is that love that has kept us together for the past 18 years and it is the love that will keep us together for the next, whether or not we have that ring or not.

It sucks that it was stolen, it sucks that the wedding band from her grandma… nearly 100 years old is probably being melted down by some punk who knew it was stolen but took it anyway. It sucks that we won’t see it again, Anne won’t wear it again.

But I didn’t choose Anne because I had a ring. I bought a ring, because I loved her. That won’t change.

Posted on November 19, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

